When Does an Arizona DUI Become a Felony?

A first DUI conviction in Arizona is a misdemeanor offense, which carries a jail term of up to 10 days, a fine of at least $250, and driver’s license suspension for up to one year. However, depending on the facts and circumstances of each case, it is possible for a first-time DUI to be charged as a felony. 

The following are several ways a first DUI offense can be charged as a felony in Arizona: 

  • Committing a DUI with a child passenger – If you are arrested for drunk or drugged driving with a passenger under 15 years old in your vehicle, you could be charged with a Class 6 felony, punishable by imprisonment for up to 18 months or two years. 

  • Committing a DUI with a suspended license – If you are arrested for drunk or drugged driving with a suspended driver’s license, you could be charged with a Class 4 felony, which carries a maximum prison sentence of three years. 

  • Committing a DUI while driving the wrong way – If your DUI arrest involves you driving the wrong way on a highway, you could be charged with a Class 4 felony. 

  • Committing a DUI that results in injury – If your DUI arrest involves causing another person’s injury in an accident, you could be charged with a Class 4 felony. 

  • Committing a DUI that results in injury or death – If your DUI arrest involves causing another person’s death in an accident, you could be charged with either negligent homicide or manslaughter. Negligent homicide is a Class 4 felony. Manslaughter is a Class 2 felony, which is a Class 2 felony that carries a maximum prison term of 12 and a half years. 

If you are facing a felony DUI in Yuma, do not hesitate to let our legal team at Bowman, Smith & Kallen, P.L.L.C. to let us defend you immediately. With more than 40 years of experience, we understand what it takes to get the most favorable results for clients facing the most serious crimes. 

Contact us today at (928) 433-2355 for a free initial consultation. 

Categories