Back to Top

First DUI Penalties in Arizona

Are you facing driving under the influence (DUI) charges for the first time? If so, you’ll be interested in learning about the penalties involved. DUI is covered under Section 28-1381 of the Arizona Revised Statutes. Under the law, it is illegal for a person to drive or have actual physical control of a vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or any drugs.

If you are stopped for driving under the influence and you have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08 percent or more, you’ll lose your license automatically. What’s more, if you wish to obtain a restricted permit or reinstate your driving privileges, you’ll be required to undergo a drug or alcohol screening.

It’s a common misconception that you won’t get a DUI if your BAC is below 0.08 percent. If the state can prove that your ability to drive safely was impaired by the introduction of alcohol or drugs, you can still face DUI charges. If you’re under the age of 21, your driver’s license can be suspended for DUI if you have any detectable alcohol in your system.

What Are the Penalties?

DUI is a “priorable offense,” which means the penalties get harsher for each subsequent offense. The penalties for a first DUI are as follows:

First DUI Penalties (BAC below 0.15)

  • A minimum of 10 days in jail
  • A minimum fine of $1,250
  • Alcohol screening/education/treatment
  • Ignition Interlock Device (IID) requirement
  • Community service

If your BAC was 0.15 or above, you will be charged with “Extreme DUI,” which incurs harsher penalties than a standard first DUI. The penalties for Extreme DUI in Arizona include a minimum jail term of 30 days, a minimum fine of $2,500, alcohol screening/education/treatment, community service, and the installation of an IID.

What is an IID exactly? “A certified ignition interlock device is a breath alcohol testing instrument connected to the ignition and power system of the vehicle. The driver blows into the device before attempting to turn the ignition. If the driver’s alcohol level is above a certain level, the vehicle will not start. While the vehicle is operating, the driver must blow into the device at random intervals,” according to the Arizona Department of Transportation.

Facing DUI charges? Contact Bowman Smith & Kallen at (928) 433-2355.

Categories