Back to Top

What Happens If I Violate the Arizona Stay-at-Home Order?

On March 30, 2020, Arizona Governor Doug Ducey issued a statewide stay-at-home order to prevent the spread of COVID-19. Residents must remain in their homes throughout each day, unless they need to perform an “essential function” (i.e. going to the grocery store, bank, pharmacy, or laundromat) or engaging in an “outdoor exercise activity” (i.e. jogging, biking, hiking, or golfing), as long as they practice social distancing. 

Caring for loved ones and pets are also considered essential functions. This includes giving a family member a ride in your vehicle to help him/her perform an essential task or helping your child move out of their college dormitory. 

What happens if you violate the Arizona stay-at-home order by leaving your home for a nonessential task? Doing so is considered a Class 1 misdemeanor. 

A Class 1 misdemeanor carries a maximum jail term of up to six months, probation for up to three years, and/or a fine no more than $2,500. However, the police must first warn potential violators before taking any enforcement actions. 

If you have been arrested for violating the stay-at-home order or for another criminal offense, our legal team at Bowman, Smith & Kallen are still available to provide experienced and effective legal solutions to clients all over Yuma County facing a variety of legal matters. You can reach out to us by phone or through a video conferencing app. 

The last thing you want is to have a criminal charge hanging over your head while you’re going through this frightening pandemic. Our firm is committed to protecting your rights and freedom inside and outside the courtroom. 

Do not hesitate to contact us today at (928) 433-2355 and schedule a free consultation. Get more than 100 years of legal experience on your side! 

Categories