Arizona law prohibits individuals from engaging in, offering to engage in, and/or agreeing to engage in a sexual act in exchange for money or other objects of value. Under A.R.S. 13-3209, both the person who offers to pay for sex and the person who agrees to accept the payment could be charged.
Because simply agreeing to engage in sexual conduct is illegal, the act does not actually need to occur for a person to be charged with this offense. The prosecutor could land a conviction for prostitution if they can prove that one individual offered money or other forms of compensation, payment was for a sexual act, and one of the individuals did something to further the commission of the offense, such as pulling money out of an ATM.
Arizona state law does not explicitly prohibit solicitation of prostitution — inviting or advertising for someone to engage in sexual conduct; however, many city ordinances do. For example, Phoenix City Code §23-52 specifically states that it is illegal to solicit or hire someone else to engage in prostitution.
A person who violates either city and/or state laws could be charged with a class 1 misdemeanor. If convicted, they could be subject to the following penalties:
- First offense: 15 days in jail
- Second offense: 30 days in jail
- Third offense: 60 days in jail
If a person was convicted of 3 or more prostitution offenses, they could be charged with a class 5 felony, which is punishable by up to 180 days in jail.
Contact Bowman, Smith & Kallen for a Free Consultation
Our attorneys understand the seriousness of a prostitution charge and conviction, which is why we take the time to sit down and listen to your side of the story and build an aggressive legal strategy on your behalf. We will fight relentlessly for a favorable outcome in your case.
Our skilled team will be by your side every step of the way. Call us at (928) 433-2355 or contact us online today.